Excellent Op-Ed

Excellent Op-Ed in yesterday’s New York Times. My favorite parts:


“Staying here carries with it a duty,” Mr. Blair said in referring to foreign-born Muslim clerics who glorify terror on British soil. “That duty is to share and support the values that sustain the British way of life. Those who break that duty and try to incite hatred or engage in violence against our country and its people have no place here.”
….
But if these anti-terror measures feel like an overreaction to the London bombings, that’s only because Britons, like so many in the West, have been avoiding a vigorous debate about what values are most worth defending in our societies.
….
Which brings me to my vote for a value that could guide Western societies: individuality. When we celebrate individuality, we let people choose who they are, be they members of a religion, free spirits, or something else entirely. I realize that for many Europeans, “individuality” might sound too much like the American ideal of individualism. It doesn’t have to. Individualism – “I’m out for myself” – differs from individuality – “I’m myself, and my society benefits from my uniqueness.”

Leave a Reply

