I cook like a faggot!

And I'm damn proud of it, too.

Today's dinner menu:

Suprêmes de Volaille à l'Écossaise

Purée de Pommes de Terre à L'Ail et Le Romarin

Really, 'twas just sautéed chicken breasts with aromatic vegetables and cream with a side of rosemary and roasted garlic mashed potatoes, but it sounds impossibly posh to say those overly-accented phrases above. And no, I don't believe in eating vegetables, so there. Julia Child has been good to me so far. This is probably the fourth or fifth meal I've made from "Mastering the Art of French Cooking," and each has been better than the last. Usually my sauces turn out somewhat lackluster, but this time the combination of cooking juices, mirepoix (equal proportions of carrot, onion and celery), vermouth, beef stock, butter and cream came together beautifully. The taste was rather splendid, and it had an excellent mouth feel. Look at me, using phrases like 'mouth feel'; how pretentious.

Oh, and I made the mashed potatoes from some purple potatoes I found at the farmer's market last week. So it was a rather surreal-looking meal. In the future I'll have to take photographs in an homage to Aunt Twisty's Morsel Institute.

As a side note, it is unbelievably difficult to buy meat stocks, made from bones and meat, around here. All that the grocery stores carry is broth, made from only bones. I did manage to find beef stock, so go me. We reeeeally need a Whole Foods or Fresh Fields or even a real Trader Joe's around here. The TJ's we have is itty bitty and doesn't carry much in the way of fresh produce, decreasing its utility significantly. Next on my list of foods to conquer is Soupe à L'Oignon, better known simply as french onion soup. A restaurant that makes a good french onion soup goes far atop my list of favorites and I have been known to make squeaky noises of appreciation for an especially fine specimen. The other day, Alton Brown made french onion soup on Good Eats and it made me salivate profusely. So, armed with the TiVo remote and a bushel of onions, I will set out on my sweet soupy journey. Sweeeeet.

Leave a Reply

